Desaturated colors

I am not a natural fan of desaturated colors, colors that are dull and boring and recede into the background. I like bright vibrant colors that stand out. However, I think I should try to be more open-minded and at least be able to see their uses, and thus expand my repertoire. So on my ever-long list of quilting projects to try out, I have a project to try to use desaturated colors. Here are some examples of desaturated colors:

Anni Albers

Anni Albers was part of the Bauhaus school, met and married Josef Albers, came to the U.S. with him, and is probably the most well known 20th century textile artist.

Southeast Trails, Carrie Gundersdorf 2007

I cheated – aren’t those bright pops of orange and turquoise nice? But I guess they’re as nice as they are precisely because of the desaturated colors around them.

Leave a Reply

